Today Seems Like Yesterday: L’Attimo Goes 1986

a cura di L’attimo fuggente

13020156_10154076704903164_838114476_n

P.I.L. – Rise
“Anger is an energy”

Hüsker Dü – Don’t Want To Know If You’re Lonely
“I’m curious to know exactly how you are
I keep my distance but that distance is too far
It reassures me just to know that you’re okay
But I don’t want you to go on needing me this way
And I don’t want to know if you are lonely”

R.E.M. – Fall On Me
“Buy the sky and sell the sky and lift your arms up to the sky
And ask the sky and ask the sky”

The Housemartins – Happy Hour
“Where they open all their wallets
And they close all their minds
And they love to buy you all a drink
And then we ask all the questions
And you take all your clothes off
And go back to the kitchen sink ”

James – Why So Close
” One false move and we all fall down
No funeral games, no such fun
Here’s your ticket to the party
That’s what you get for playing with a gun ”

Felt – All The People I Like Are Those That Are Dead
” Maybe I should entertain
The very fact that I’m insane.
I wasn’t fooling when I said,
All the people I like are those that are dead.”

The Smiths – There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
“And if a double-decker bus
Crashes in to us
To die by your side
Is such a heavenly way to die
And if a ten ton truck
Kills the both of us
To die by your side
Well the pleasure, the privilege is mine ”

Billy Bragg – Greetings To The New Brunette
” Sometimes when we’re as close as this
It’s like we’re in a dream
How can you lie there and think of England
When you don’t even know who’s in the team”

XTC – Dear God
“Dear God, sorry to disturb you, but… I feel that I should be heard
loud and clear. We all need a big reduction in amount of tears
and all the people that you made in your image, see them fighting
in the street ‘cause they can’t make opinions meet about God,
I can’t believe in you”

Elvis Costello And The Attractions – I Want You
“Oh my baby baby I love you more than I can tell
I don’t think I can live without you
And I know that I never will
Oh my baby baby I want you so it scares me to death
I can’t say anymore than “I love you”
Everything else is a waste of breath”

Everything But The Girl – Don’t Let Your Teardrops Rust Your Shining Heart
“Sorrow is a lonely road
Where the rain like your tears
Beats heavy on the roof above your head
Tomorrow is a lovers’ town
That’s been beaten down
And the hands of winter holds the life we’ve led”

The Triffids – Stolen Property
” There’s someone standing in the rain like they have no place to go
Maybe that someone is you, maybe someone you don’t aim to know
Maybe lost possessions
Maybe stolen property
You just lie around waiting on a signal from heaven
Never had to heal any deep incisIon
Darling you are not moving any mountains
You are not seeing any visions
You are not freeing any people from prison”

Talk Talk – Life’s What You Make It
“Baby, life’s what you make it
Celebrate it
Anticipate it
Yesterday’s faded
Nothing can change it
Life’s what you make it”

Coil – Ostia (The Death Of Pasolini)
“Out of the strong
Came forth sweetness.”
Throw his bones over
The White Cliffs
of Dover
And murder me
In Ostia.”

Cocteau Twins – Fluffy Tufts
” I don’t need my lover
(Any day now all of us will…)”


This Mortal Coil – Strength of Strings
” In my life the piano sings
Brings me words that are not the strength of strings.
Fiery rain and Ruby’s cooling sun.
Now I see that my world has only begun.
Notes that roll on winds with swirling wings…”


David Sylvian – Taking The Veil
“In dresses white, all set for sail
A little girl dreams of taking the veil”

Rispondi

